If you want the events on your Event Portal website to be visible only to some people, you may want to make the Portal private. Making the Event Portal private allows you to control exactly who is able to access this website.
Make your Event Portal website private
On the Organization tab, select the Website Settings menu item. By default, Event Portal websites are set to be public. To make it private, check the “This is a private Portal” checkbox. While your selection will save automatically on this screen you must republish the Portal website in order for this selection to be applied.
Note: To use this function your Organization or Business Unit must have at least one type of authentication method enabled.
Levels of access
If you've chosen to control access to your portal you will need to decide which level of access is appropriate for your use-case. There are two levels of access—any authenticated user or by invite only.
Allow any signed in (authenticated) member of your business unit to access your private portal website
The first level of access allows you to restrict access to only signed-in (authenticated) users who have member accounts with your business unit. A user can obtain a member account in one of two ways:
1. The user can create an account while registering for an event managed by a business unit. They cay create an account using Attendease SSO (email and password), custom authentication (such as Adobe ID or NBC SSO), or Facebook (depending on what has been enabled for the business unit).
2. You can invite them to create an account using the "Invite People to the Portal" interface on the Portal Website Settings screen (more details below).
Invite people to access your private portal website
If you have selected "Restrict access to the portal to be by invitation only", only people who have been invited—and have accepted their invitation—are able to view the portal website.
Invite people and manage invitations
In the “Accepted Invitations” column, a list of all email addresses that are able to access the private Event Portal are listed.
In the “Invite People to the Portal” section, you are able to view sent invitations that have not yet been accepted. You are also able to add more people by entering their email in the “Email” field and clicking the “Invite” button.
If an email address is incorrect or there is someone that you no longer want to be able to access the private Event Portal, click the “Remove” button next to that email address. You are also able to resend invitations if a user has not yet accepted their invitation.
User experience of receiving an invitation to a private Event Portal
When you add an email address, an invitation to join your private Event Portal is automatically sent. A user must have an account and be signed into the Portal website in order to be able to access its content. Once a user has signed in they will be able to use all functionality of the Portal.
User experience with Attendease Single-Sign-On authentication
The Attendease Single-Sign-On authentication method is the built-in way of authenticating users of Attendease event websites. It requires people to create an account using their email address and a password.
Users that already have a member account—people that have registered for an event using a particular email address previously—will be asked to sign in when they are redirected to the private Event Portal website. Users that are not yet members will be prompted to create a new account.
User experience with other authentication methods
If another type of authentication method is used—such as Facebook or a custom authentication method—users will be prompted to sign in or create a new account using that particular authentication method.